Two EORU Senior Men’s Squad Members Selected for the First Ontario Blues Match of the Summer

Pat Lynott and Ryan Surgenor, both of the Bytown Blues, have been selected to the Ontario Blues for the first representative rugby fixture of the summer.

“We are very happy for both Ryan and Patrick to be included in this selection,” said Kurt Dingwall, Director of the EORU Senior Men’s Program. “We hope that as we move forward, the EORU Senior Men’s Program will be a stepping stone for many others to be included in the Ontario Blues Senior Men’s Program.”

Lynott and Surgenor will join the Ontario Blues as they head down to New York to take on Old Blue New York on Saturday, April 29th.

See the full release from the Ontario Blues below:

Ontario Blues Chris Silverthorn has named his first squad of the 2017 senior mens representative rugby season, ahead of the clash with Old Blue New York on Saturday, April 29th at Randalls Island, NYC

Three players who missed the 2016 season return and another trio of new names on the team sheet have potential to get their first Blues caps.

“Most of our guys have not even had a game of rugby yet” said Silverthorn, “but we have been really pleased at the effort at the April weekend mini camps we have had and look forward to a great game against a very strong opposition”

Back row Seb Pearson, outhalf Shawn Windsor and lock Paul Ciulini mark their return to the Blues line-up, while hooker Cam Sandison (Oakville), center Kyle Knight (London) and halfback Mario Van der Westhuizen (Guelph) can make their Blues debut on Saturday.

“Old Blue have had quite a few games, have lots of international players on their roster and will be far ahead of us game-fitness wise” said Silverthorn, “but we are keen to see how our new combinations work and how guys can step up against the odds”

Ontario v Old Blue NY

Rob Brouwer, Lindsay (Captain); Pat Lynott, Bytown; AJ Quattrin, Aurora; Cam Sandison, Oakville; Tom Dolezel, London; Ryan Surgenor, Bytown; Hank Mcqueen, Balmy Beach; Mike Sheppard, Brampton, Paul Ciulini, Aurora; Andrew Wilson, Oakville;, Seb Pearson, London; Lucas Rumball, Balmy Beach; Pete Milazzo, Toronto Saracens

Andrew Ferguson, Oakville; Josh Campbell, London; Mario Vanderwesthuizen, Guelph; Shawn Windsor, Stoney Creek; Kyle Knight, London; John Sheridan, Markham Irish; Kainoa Lloyd, Mississauga; Rory McDonell, Brantford; Mitch Richardson, Stoney Creek